Louise Lebrun re-elected as prefect of the Haut-Saint-Laurent RCM | VIVA MÉDIA Skip to main content

The mayors of the Haut-Saint-Laurent RCM have reappointed Louise Lebrun, mayor of Sainte-Barbe, as prefect of the RCM. It is with great pleasure that Mrs. Lebrun accepted to retain the title of prefect of the Haut-Saint-Laurent RCM, which she has held since 2015.

It was at the meeting of Council of Mayors, which took place on November 24th, that the position came up for election. However, Mrs. Lebrun saw her colleagues from the thirteen municipalities of the Haut-Saint-Laurent territory opt for continuity.

“It is an honour to represent the RCM Council and to continue to support, with my counterparts, the strategic development of our beautiful region. I would like to thank, once again, my colleagues for their confidence, while saluting the collaborative spirit of the regional councillors who are sitting for the first time at the RCM table”, said Mrs. Lebrun.

During this meeting which marked the introduction of five newly elected mayors, it was agreed that the following people will act as substitute prefects, namely Giovanni Moretti, mayor of Saint-Anicet, until July 24th, 2022, André Brunette, Mayor of Huntingdon, from July 25th, 2022 to March 24th, 2023, and Linda Gagnon, Mayor of Dundee, from March 25th to November 22nd, 2023.

The Haut-Saint-Laurent in a few words

The Haut-Saint-Laurent RCM is made up of thirteen municipalities serving 22,220 citizens and spread over 1,167 km2, 93% of which are in agricultural zones. The Haut-Saint-Laurent is distinguished by its bucolic landscapes as far as the eye can see, its numerous rivers and its location in the southwest of the province, along the St. Lawrence River as well as the state of New York.

For the next four years, the Regional Council of the Haut-Saint-Laurent RCM will bring together:

  • Mrs. Linda Gagnon, Mayor of Dundee since 2017
  • Mrs. Deborah Stewart, Mayor of Elgin since 2009
  • Mr. Yves Métras, Mayor of Franklin, elected in 2021
  • Mr. Pierre Poirier, Mayor of Godmanchester since 1999
  • Mr. Stéphane Gingras, Mayor of Havelock, elected in 2021
  • Mr. Mark Wallace, Mayor of Hinchinbrooke, elected in 2021
  • Mr. Richard Raithby, Mayor of Howick since 2013
  • Mr. André Brunette, Mayor of Huntingdon since 2013
  • Mrs. Christine McAleer, Mayor of Ormstown, elected in 2021
  • Mr. Giovanni Moretti, Mayor of Saint-Anicet since 2017
  • Mrs. Louise Lebrun, Mayor of Sainte-Barbe since 2009
  • Mr. Steve Laberge, Mayor of Saint-Chrysostome, elected in 2021
  • Mrs. Agnes McKell, Mayor of Très-Saint-Sacrement since 2017
Steve Sauvé


Leave a Reply